Uncategorized

This Christmas.

How was everyones Christmas? I do hope it was full of all the best festive hot cocoas, gifts, twinkling lights, and family time that anyone could ask for! 🙂

I’m so thankful that I got to send this holiday with my love, her beyond welcoming family, and a few members from my own family this year.

It’s been quite the different Christmas for me and my immediate family. You know how when you grow up with multiple brothers and sisters you get used to having that big ole family Christmas morning, and all the comforts of your childhood? Well, newsflash. Once you all grow up, and times get tough for everyone, things just don’t always work that way. It’s hard to realize that your brothers start families of their own, have kids of their own, and everyone naturally forms their own little units. I love that about life. But. I also hateee that about life. I’m not a huge fan of change. Believe it or not, it’s not my favorite thing in the world. And although I’m more than a “young adult” now, it’s still an adjustment for me. Maybe it has a greater impact because I’m not really at that point in my life. With my own little unit. And I don’t want this to come off ungrateful. Because I do know how BEYOND fortunate that I am to even have a family. To even have an amazing girlfriends family who is so very accepting of me. And to have the ability to buy even a small gift for the people that I love. I guess what I’m really trying to express is that things were just different, and that’s okay. That’s part of life right. Going with the flow, and adapting to how things change through different seasons in our lives.

I still had a wonderful Christmas but what I’ve learned from this one more than any other is that the season really is what you make it. I thought that since my whole entire family wasn’t getting together, and since I wasn’t exactly going to be waking up Christmas morning in my apartment, that it meant I shouldn’t do all of the usual fun festive things that are tradition. And because of that my feelings, and excitement about the holiday season suffered. I did not buy a tree. I did not go to Christmas Town with my younger sister. I did not drive around to look at lights. I did not bake even one batch of cookies.. My made up excuses or “rational reasons” in my head were completely unnecessary. I was the only reason for stopping myself from doing all of the great things that make me fall in love with the whole month of December! So!.. Never. Again. Situational things shouldn’t shift me into not doing all of things that I know that I love within this season. Lesson learned on that one.. Lesson. Learned.

And the good news about all of this is.. There is always another Christmas. Another year to make it that much more memorable or to change what you could’ve done better. To make the most of, and if 2016 has taught me anything at all, it’s that 2017 is going to be oh soo much better!

XXOO

Leave a Reply

