Uncategorized

New Chapter..

Holy crap. The last few weeks have been quite the whirlwind I would say. I mean, don’t get me wrong I love to keep my life busy. And some would even say tooo busy but the past couple of weeks (and coming weeks) have (and will be) borderline insane.

I wrapped up my time in the Seattle area at Evergreen hospital on the 11th of this month, and it’s been sort of bittersweet. The position itself, and my co workers I worked with there were all kind. I have nothing bad to say about anyone I interacted with, but in a way I was just ready to move on from that facility. I will say though, their patient care was top notch by far, and they really were a very competent group of surgeons, nurses, and techs. They took care of their patients and each other very well. They served the community with ease. I am thankful I got the opportunity to work at a very well run acute care operating room. Realizing that I had to leave Seattle, Washington however was a whole different story! I was just NOT ready to leave such a beautiful place. I understand now why oh so many people have transplanted there! Every weekend there was something going on. If it wasn’t a Seahawks or Mariners game, it was a festival, pub crawl, or a cultural celebration! And the hiking?! Don’t even get me started. Seriously fell in love with the scenery, countless trails, and that Puget Sound city skyline. If you haven’t been to the PNW, I highly, HIGHLY recommend it! To say I left kicking and screaming inside would be completely accurate. If I could just scoop up that entire city, including all the awesome girls that I met through traveling, and just move it with me closer to family I would! But that’s the thing about new cities and different places, you just don’t ever get to make it “home” or bring home with it there. All in all, I had a great time in Seattle. I can’t wait to go back, get to explore more, and soak up that gorgeous summer sunshine that makes that place so impeccably perfect.

Right after my last shift, Meg and I packed up everything we owned from within the apartment into my little Kia Soul (aka Emma Stone) and drove to the airport! We had planned a mini trip to L.A. to celebrate my 30th birthday! (Which I took pretty well, kinda..not really but, still..it happened) We had an awesome weekend getting to catch up with my Aunt and her family, which I hadn’t seen since I was about 15!! We spent a day at Universal Studios, and I finally got to walk around Hogwarts drinking Butter Beer wishing I owned a wand. It was one of the BEST days in a long time!! We laughed more than most of the 12 year olds there, and rode every damn ride possible. I like to consider that day my actual birthday because it seriously doesn’t get much better then that! 🙂 We also took advantage of that California weather, you know the kind with the palm trees and that golden sky? Also known as pure heaven. Laguna Beach to be exact. A girl could get used to that kind of scene and sunshine on her skin. It was the perfect combination of heat, crashing waves, and a cool breeze. That night we got to have dinner with the family and talk with my aunt for a few hours. I’m grateful to have so many older and wiser strong women in my life. It was really eye opening to just talk with her about real issues, and life struggles. I was reminded that family (even extended family) are always there to lean on. Even if they are miles and miles away. More on that one day… maybe.

After we flew back and landed in Seattle, it was a quick grab the car and start the long trek towards home on the east coast for the holidays. Six planned out days on the road, with 9 hours a day of driving, with a few fun sights to be scene thrown in there. I knew what to expect since we had driven to the west coast initially for this travel assignment. BUT, man was the trip back full of unplanned reroutes, annoyance bickering (Don’t worry, I still love you babe) and a blizzard basically completely across the entire state of Colorado! Utah was breathtaking! Like magazine worthy, and quite possibly one of the most beautiful sights I’ve ever experienced was standing on the side of a cliff in Moab, Utah. It was beyond what I expected, and an experience I’ll always remember. Driving across the country had always been something I wanted to do! I still can’t believe that it actually happened. I was able to see so much more of the country than I ever thought possible. I’m not 100% sure I could ever do it again hahaha BUT I’m glad it was a new life experience that I was able to add to the books!

Now, currently, it’s 10:27pm happily on Eastern Standard Time and I’m thankful to have this Thanksgiving week off to spend time with family, friends, and all of the people that I love. And so I’m closing the West Coast chapter for now, and I’m excited to experience what’s around the corner for me. The next few weeks I’ll be a sort of gypsy, bouncing around, living out a suitcase, getting ready for my next assignment, and moving into a new place. So here’s to a new chapter.

XXOO

2 thoughts on “New Chapter..”

Leave a Reply

